The Hen wrote:
He didn't let go.....Clean hit yes, the follow through was what got him....Yes I know tough to let up....He drove him to the ground.....
Why would he let go!?
As far as he knew the QB had the ball when he hit him. What is he just supposed to hold onto him and not tackle? (Give him a hug?) There is no way he could know that he threw the ball. He hit him before the ball left his hand. By the time the ball was being released Johnson was already bringing him to the ground.
Bad call. IMHO.
The rule states, even if he still had the ball, you cannot pile drive the qb into the ground...does not matter if he had the ball or not but since he took him off his feet and slammed him down...whether you like the rule or you think its for panzies, its what the rule states so its what he have to live with.